International Doctoral Conference in Philosophy of Science

Call for papers:

International Doctoral Conference

in Philosophy of Science

In order to promote contacts among young researchers in Philosophy of Science and the construction of a network of young researchers at an international level, the Société de Philosophie des Sciences ( organizes each year an International Doctoral Conference in Philosophy of Science. In 2016, this conference will be held in Paris, at the IHPST, Institut d’Histoire et de Philosophie des Sciences et des Techniques, on Thursday the 29th and Friday the 30th of September, 2016. Cédric Paternotte (Université Paris IV) and Valeria Giardino (Archives H. Poincaré) will be the guest speakers.

During the Doctoral Conference, students from the 2nd year of their PhD on, as well as young researchers having defended their thesis less than two years ago, will be presenting their works in Philosophy of Science broadly understood (general philosophy of science, philosophy of logic, philosophy of mathematics, philosophy of physics, philosophy of biology, philosophy of medicine, philosophy of social sciences, theory of scientific knowledge etc.). The talks will be held preferably in French, though communications in English are also accepted. Each presentation will last 30 minutes, including 5 minutes devoted to a general presentation of the subject of the thesis, and will be followed by some time for discussion. Without giving up on the usual standards of their own field, the speakers are invited to stress their contributions to general problems in Philosophy of Science.

PhD students and young researchers are invited to submit a long abstract (6000 signs max.) prepared for blind review. Another file should contain a short presentation of the thesis and its relation with the submission (2000 signs max.), as well as the following information: name, surname, subject of the thesis, name of PhD advisor, institution, year of the first inscription in postgraduate studies or, for young researchers, date of thesis defense. Either .pdf or .doc-x formats are accepted.

The abstracts should be sent to by 18th April 2016 1st may 2016. Notification of acceptance will be given in June. Participants are welcome to become member of the SPS (10 € for students). Students who are not going to present are also invited to attend the conference.

For further information, do not hesitate to contact

Scientific committee:

Anouk Barberousse (Paris IV Paris-Sorbonne Université)

Soazig Le Bihan (Université du Montana)

Nadine de Courtenay (Université Paris Diderot)

Max Kistler (Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne)

Thierry Martin (Université de Franche-Comté)

Cédric Paternotte (Paris IV Paris-Sorbonne Université)

Organizing committee:

Charles Braverman (Université de Lorraine, AHP)

Régis Catinaud (Université de Lorraine, AHP)

Anna Maria Dieli (Università degli Studi di Roma “Tor Vergata” - Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne)

Juliette Ferry (Université Paris IV Paris-Sorbonne Université) )

Gabriel Giovannetti (Aix-Marseille Université)

Stefan Jokulsson (Université de Lorraine, AHP)

Victor Lefèvre (Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne)

Marie Michon (Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne)

Youna Tonnerre (Université de Rennes 1)

With the collaboration of Francesca Merlin (IHPST, Paris, Vice-Chairwomen “young researchers” of the SPS)

-- Youna Tonnerre

Reply · Report Post